2021 Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors comprises world leaders representing academia, basic science, private practice physicians, health systems, public policy and the business community.

David Carmouche, MD


President Ochsner Health Network
Senior VP, Community Care

Ochsner Health System

Board Committees: Executive, Compliance, Personnel

Bryan Batson, MD

President Elect & VP, Administration

Chief Executive Officer

Hattiesburg Clinic

Board Committees: Executive, CME, Personnel

Robert M. Carey, MD

VP Development

Professor of Medicine; Dean Emeritus

University of Virginia School of Medicine

Board Committees: Executive, Research/Publications

Anna Thomas


Vice President

The Kinetix Group—Healthcare Consultancy

Board Committees: Executive, Compliance

Alex Cohen, MD


Chief Medical Officer

Genesis Healthcare System

Board Committees: Executive, Finance

E. G. “Nick” Ulmer, MD

Centers of Excellence President

Vice President Clinical Integration
Director of Case Management

Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System

Board Committees: Centers of Excellence/Membership

Richard Schuster, MD, MMM

Past President

Co-Director, Global Health Leadership and Administration

University of Haifa

Board Committee: Centers of Excellence/Membership

Amy Amick

President and Chief Executive Officer

SPH Analytics-Healthcare IT Analytics and Population Solutions

Board Committee: Finance

Steve Combs, MD

Vice President & Chief Medical Officer

Ballad Health Medical Associates

Board Committee: Centers/Membership

Michael Caplan, MD

Internal Medicine Physician

Piedmont Internal Medicine

Board Committee: CME

Carlos Ferrario, MD


Professor, Physiology and Pharmacology

Wake Forest School of Medicine

Board Committee: Executive

Len Fromer, MD

Executive Medical Director Group

Practice Forum, The Kinetix Group—Healthcare Consultancy

Board Committee: Nominations/Awards

David Hanekom, MD

President & CEO

David S Hanekom, LLC

Board Committee: Personnel

Virginia Howard, PhD

Professor, School of Public Health

University of Alabama, Birmingham

Board Committee: Research/Publications

Daniel Lackland, DrPH

Professor of Epidemiology

Medical University of South Carolina

Board Committee: Research/Publications

Michael Lischke, EdD, MPH

Associate Professor
Associate Dean for Continuing Medical Education

Wake Forest School of Medicine

Board Committee: CME

Michael Moore, MD


Director of CME

SOVAH Health

Board Committees: Executive, CME

Peg O’Connell, JD


Board Committee: Nominations/Awards

Ross Simpson, MD, PhD

Professor of Medicine, Cardiology

UNC Chapel Hill School of Medicine

Board Committee: Research/Publications

Steve Smith, PharmD, MPH

Assistant Professor of Pharmacy
Associate Director Center for Integrative CV & Metabolic Disease

University of Florida

Board Committee: Research/Publications

Kevin Weinstein

President and Chief Growth Officer

Azara Healthcare

Board Committee: Strategy

Dave Zook, JD


Faegre Drinker Consulting—Healthcare and Public Policy

Committee: Compliance