The 2019 COSEHQ Clinical Excellence Award

March 31, 2019

Brent M. Egan, MD received the Clinical Excellence Award. Dr. Egan is Professor of Medicine at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine, Greenville and serves as Vice-President, Research in the Care Coordination Institute and as President of the South Carolina Upstate affiliate of the American Heart Association. He received his medical degree and training in medicine and hypertension at the University of Michigan. His professional interests center on hypertension, metabolic syndrome and vascular disease, which led to more than 300 original papers and reviews. He was selected on the U.S. Best Doctors list for 1998-2014.

Dr. Egan started the Outpatient Quality Improvement Network (OQUIN) Hypertension Initiative at MUSC in 1999 to collaborate with primary care physicians in South Carolina to optimize control of modifiable cardiovascular risk factors, reduce cardiovascular events, and improve health equity. He received the Marvin Moser Award from the AHA Hypertension Council in 2018 for contributions to clinical management of hypertension. Dr. Egan remains committed to working with colleagues to translate the evidence-base into better cardiovascular health.